follow us on...

Long Island Metro 1 downs LI Metro 2 for Val Walchak Trophy as champions of Onondaga Division at National Tournament

Monday, 28th May 2018

Categories Girl's/Women's, High school, Posted 5/28/18
From US Lacrosse

Heavy rains wreaked havoc on the second day of the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament, but it didn’t dampen the enthusiasm for the home squads. Long Island Metro 1 defeated Long Island Metro 2 by a 7-4 score to claim the Val Walchak Trophy as the champions of the Onondaga Division on Sunday at Stony Brook.

Both teams went 4-0 in pool play to set up the championship match between the familiar rivals. Alexa Gentile scored less than four minutes into the game to give Long Island Metro 1 the early lead, one they never relinquished.

Long Island Metro 1 led 3-1 at the half, but Long Island Metro 2’s Janine Suris scored the first of her three goals early in the second half to cut it to 3-2, but Long Island Metro then scored four straight goals to pull away.

Madigan Miller led Long Island 1 with a pair of goals and Gentile and Gabrielle Schneider each had a goal and an assist.

In the Oneida Division, Caitlyn Wurzbuger scored five goals to lead South Florida to a 16-7 win over Philly 3. Wurzburger scored four of her team’s first five goals to stake her team to an early lead and South Florida won a division championship for the second year in a row at the event. Megan Mangines added three goals for South Florida. Kacy Hogarth led Philly 3 with a pair of goals.

Following the tournament, Wurzburger was named as the recipient of the Heather Leigh Albert Award as the outstanding player in the event. Wurzburger, is a sophomore at American Heritage and led her team to a Florida state championship earlier this month. She joins a list of distinguished recipients of the Heather Leigh Albert Award that includes past U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest.

Also named as finalists for the Heather Leigh Albert Award were Madison Ahern (Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1), Olivia Dirks (Philly 1), Alex Finn (Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1), Alexa Gentile (Long Island 1), Alexis Lauricella (New Jersey South), Maggie Lyons (DC Metro 1), Jennifer Markey (Long Island 1), Natalie Pansini (Philly 1) and Gabrielle Schneider (Long Island 1).

The 2018 US Lacrosse National Tournament featured nearly 1,200 players from 59 regional all-star teams. The event is sponsored by Northwest Designs Ink, First Scout Productions, HLA Foundation, The Pearl by Guardian, Gatorade, Chipotle, Peapod and Impact Canopy – as well as US Lacrosse national partners, GreenFields and Nationwide.

Championship Games
Onondaga: Long Island Metro 1 d. Long Island Metro 2, 7-4
Seneca: New Hampshire/Vermont 1 won by forfeit
Oneida: South Florida d. Philly 3, 16-7
Tuscarora: Massachusetts/Rhode Island 4 d. Virginia, 11-4
Mohawk: Orange County d. Philly 5, 9-5
Cayuga: Oregon d. Maine, 7-6
Iroquois: Nor Cal d. Connecticut 4, 14-2


Latest Headlines