follow us on...

LI’s Ortega, Huff named as finalists for Heather Leigh Albert award

Sunday, 24th May 2015

Categories Girl's/Women's, High school  

By Chris Goldberg, Posted 5/24/15

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Something happened to delay Allison Mastroianni’s departure today as she attempted to go with her family to see her future team, North Carolina, play Maryland in the Division I National Championship game at PPL Park.

Heather Leigh Albert winner Allison Mastroianni of NJ North and bridgewater-Raritan High

Heather Leigh Albert winner Allison Mastroianni of NJ North and Bridgewater-Raritan High

The news was good, however, as the 2017 midfielder from New Jersey North and Bridgewater-Raritan was named the winner of the prestigious Heather Leigh Albert award, honoring the top player at the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament today this weekend at Lehigh University.

“I learned from this weekend that it (being successful) really takes working together with people,” said Mastroianni, who helped her team reach the Onondaga (top division) semifinals and finish fourth. “In the first game everyone was getting used to each other and today we played so well together and I think it showed in the end.”

The Women’s National Tournament featured 64 teams from regions throughout the United States. More than 175 college coaches attended during the two-day tourney.

“It’s an awesome tourney’ you see people you know from other events,” said Mastroianni. “I just thought it was a great experience and to get to work with so many people from all over the state is so cool.”

Heather Leigh Albert Finalists

Heather Leigh Albert finalists (from left):

Heather Leigh Albert finalists (from left):Haley Connaughton, Sam Swart, Keley Huff, Jamie Ortega, Allison Mastroianni, Charlotte Allard, Elena Ricci, Ashley Britton, Lexi Tan. Scottie Rose Growney is not pictured.

Allison Mastroianni, NJ North (Bridgewater-Raritan, 2017 MF, UNC commit) – winner
Ashley Britton, DC Metro 1, MF (Annandale, VA, 2016)
Elena Ricci, DC Metro 1, MF (St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, VA, 2017)
Kelsey Huff, Long Island Metro 1, MF (Eastport-South Manor, NY, 2017)
Jamie Ortega, Long Island Metro 1, A (Middle Country, NY, 2017)

Charlotte Allard, Massachusetts/Rhode Island, MF (Cohassat, MA, 2016)
Haley Connaughton, Massachusetts/Rhode Island, A (Westwood, MA, 2017)
Samantha Swart, Philly 1, MF (Archbishop Carroll, PA, 2017)
Scottie Rose Growney, Philly 1, MF (Conestoga, PA, 2017)
Lexi Tan, Baltimore Metro 1, MF (St. Paul’s School for Girls, MD, 2016)

Past Heather Leigh Albert winners
Year Name Team

1994 Beth Potter Philadelphia
1995 Jaque Weitzel South
1996 Sheehan Stanwick South
1997 Sheehan Stanwick South
1998 Kellie Thompson Chesapeake
1999 Lauren Aumiller U.S. U-19 National Team
2000 Kristy Dirks Middle Atlantic
2001 Katie Chrest Middle Atlantic
2002 Kathleen Miller Middle Atlantic
2003 Jennifer Hauser Middle Atlantic
2004 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic
2005 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic 1
2006 Emma Hamm Upper Atlantic 1
2007 Amanda Jones Upper Atlantic 1
2008 Kelly Austin Middle Atlantic 1
2009 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2010 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2011 Taylor Ranftle Long Island Metro 1
2012 Maeve McMahon Lower New England 1
2013 Kelly Myers Washington D.C. Metro
2014 Olivia Jenner Baltimore Metro 1


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines