follow us on...

Farmingdale veteran coach Hartranft to be honored by US Lacrosse with prestigious award

Friday, 27th December 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, High school, Posted 12/27/13
Staff Report

Farmingdale veteran boys’ coach Bob Hartranft, who had won over 650 games in 45 years, has been selected as the winner of US Lacrosse’s 2013 Gerald J. Carroll Exemplary Coaching Award.

Hartranft, who guided the Dalers to the 2011 New York State Class A championship for the school’s first state crown, will be honored with the prestigious award on Jan. 11 at the 2014 US Lacrosse Convention in Philadelphia.

The award annually recognizes one boys’ high school coach in the country “whose success is best measured not in victories but in the support and guidance given to the balanced growth and development of young men who play the game.”

The award, established in 1994 (see past winners below), honors a coach whose success is best measured in the support and guidance given to the development of student-athletes.

The US Lacrosse convention, which is attended by lacrosse coaches, officials and administrators from all over the country. The event typically draws more than 7,000 participants, including coaches from top NCAA programs across the nation, and includes over 130 educational sessions.

Past Recipients of Gerald J. Carroll Exemplary Coaching Award

1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.
1995 – Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1997 – Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1998 – John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1999 – John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
2000 – Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
2001 – Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2004 – David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2005 – John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2007 – John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2008 – Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.Y.
2009 – Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2010 – Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2011 – Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.
2012 – Mike Jolly, De La Salle Collegiate High School, Warren, Mich.



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines