follow us on...

Long Island players excel at Champion Showcase; Port Washington’s Froccaro leads team to title, wins MVP

Saturday, 28th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Posted 7/28/12
From US Lacrosse

Jake Froccaro (Port Washington) scored four of his five goals late in the game to help Team Freedom rally for an 11-9 victory over Team Spirit Friday in the Champion All-American Showcase title game at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Froccaro took over the game in the fourth quarter. Froccaro scored back-to-back goals just 15 seconds apart to give Freedom an 8-7 lead with eight minutes to play. With less than two minutes to play, Spirit trailed by one and had the ball, but Froccaro intercepted a pass and fed Ryan Hollingsworth to give Freedom a two-goal lead with 1:27 left.

Froccaro wasn’t done. Spirit’s Brock Ghelfi won the next faceoff and then ripped home an outside shot with 57 seconds left to pull Spirit back within 10-9. Froccaro came back on to win the next faceoff and then scored the clinching goal with 40 seconds remaining.

Froccaro also won 10 of 13 faceoffs.

In the consolation game, Dan Muller (Massapequa) scored 36 seconds into the first overtime period to lift Liberty to a 10-9 victory over Pride. Liberty closed the tournament with two straight wins for a 2-2 overall record. Muller, Jibran Ahmad and Kevin McNally all had two goals for Liberty. Liberty goalie Kris Alleyne made seven saves while holding Pride scoreless for the fourth quarter and the overtime period. Brendan Caputo (Chaminade) and Sam Becker each had two goals for Pride while William Ryan (12) and Connor Peaks (8) combined for 20 saves.

Following the championship, US Lacrosse Men’s Game Director Stephen Berger presided over the awards ceremony with each team’s coaching staff presenting a Team MVP and Sportsmanship Award. The honorees were:

Sportsmanship: Brendan Caputo, Chaminade High School (N.Y.) – Brown

MVP: Ray Mastroianni, Bridgewater-Raritan High School (N.J.) – Lehigh

Sportsmanship: Alexander Spring, Western Reserve Academy (Ohio) – Bucknell
MVP: Jabron Ahmid, Hackley School (N.Y.) – Dartmouth

Sportsmanship: Chandler Kirby, Corning High School (N.Y.) – Cornell (verbal)

MVP: Tanner Scales, Regis Jesuit (Colo.) High School – Virginia

Sportsmanship: Scott Davis, St. Thomas Aquinas High School (Kans.) – Augustana
MVP: Jake Froccaro, Port Washington High School (N.Y.) – Princeton

Box Scores

Championship Game

Freedom 11, Spirit 9
Goals: Freedom – Jake Froccaro 5, Nick Kilkowski 2, Ryan Hunter, Scott Davis, Will Walter, Ryan Hollingsworth. Spirit – John Blackman 3, Brandon Phinny 2, Joe Baker, Ryan Fairman, Brock Ghelfi, Chris Wolter.

Assists: Freedom – Nick Kilkowski 2, JJ Ntshaykolo, Jake Froccaro. Spirit – Shane Fee 2, Troy Haefele, Ian Seale, Carson Clough, Jakob Woodhouse.

Goalkeeping: Freedom – Jack Kelly (8 saves, 5 GA), Thomas Gilligan (10 saves, 4 GA). Spirit – Jack Connelly (12 saves, 3 GA), Matt Sigmund (5 saves, 8 GA).

Consolation Game

Liberty 10, Pride 9 (OT)
Goals: Liberty – Dan Muller 3, Jibran Ahmad 2, Kevin McNally 2, Ed Lubowicki, Will Pilat, Jeff Desko. Pride – Brendan Caputo 2, Sam Becker 2, A.J. Fish, Jacob Fuller, Ray Mastroianni, Anthony Ciammaichella, Colin Massa.

Assists: Liberty – Blake Dutton, Ed Lubowicki, Chris Pauzer. Pride – Anthony Ciammaichella, Brendan Caputo.

Goalkeeping: Liberty – Colin Delea (6 saves, 5 GA), Kris Alleyne (7 saves, 4 GA). Pride – William Ryan (12 saves, 6 GA), Connor Peaks (8 saves, 4 GA).



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines