follow us on...

Duvnjak (Manhasset), Stackpole (St. Anthony’s) lead FCA to boys’ high school championship at Vail Shootout

Monday, 9th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High school, Posted 7/9/12
Courtesy of Fellowship of Christian Athletes

After two disappointing losses in the finals of the 2010 and 2011 Vail Shootout Championships, the Fellowship of Christina Athletes (FCA) was finally able to bring home the Vail Lacrosse Shootout Championship Sunday with a 12-10 win over Team Colorado.

FCA won the Boys’ high school championship at the Vail shootout

For his efforts throughout the tournament and his four goals in the championship game, Patrick Kelly (Calvert Hall) was named Tournament MVP.

For the first time since the tournament started on Thursday, FCA was greeted with great weather for the championship game on Ford Field. FCA had eight different players score in the game and got goals from Derek DeJoe, Brett Pearce, Spencer Parks, Matt Dunn, Kelly, and Case Matheis to build a 6-0 lead that would prove tough for Team Colorado to recover from.

While Team Colorado was finally able to get on the scoreboard in the 2nd quarter, it was never able to pull within two goals of FCA as FCA won its first ever Vail Shootout Championship. This year’s team marked the 20th Anniversary of FCA’s 1st ever team which competed in the 1992 Vail Lacrosse Shootout.

In addition to Kelly being named MVP of the tournament, FCA placed five guys to the All- Tournament Team. Kelly was joined by midfielder Deemer Class, defenseman, Dunn and Bobby Duvnjak (Manhasset), and long stick midfielder Tim Stackpole (St. Anthony’s).

FCA 12, Team Colorado 10

Goals – Patrick Kelly 4, Ryan Brown 2, Derek DeJoe, Brett Pearce, Spencer Parks, Matt Dunn, Case Matheis, Henry Blynn.

Assists – Deemer Class 2, TJ Neubauer , Ryan Brown, Spencer Parks, Derek DeJoe

Game Summary
1st Quarter

1-0 DeJoe with a goal, assisted by Deemer Class
2-0 Brett Pearce with a goal, assisted by TJ Neubauer
3-0 Spencer Parks unassisted
4-0 Defenseman Matt Dunn goal

2nd Quarter
5-0 Patrick Kelly goal, assisted by Ryan Brown
6-0 Case Matheis goal, assisted by Spencer Parks
6-1 Team Colorado Goal
6-2 Team Colorado Goal
6-3 Team Colorado Goal
7-3 Patrick Kelly goal, assisted by Deemer Class
7-4 Team Colorado Goal
8-4 Ryan Brown Goal

3rd Quarter
8-5 Team Colorado Goal
8-6 Team Colorado Goal
9-6 Henry Blynn Goal
9-7 Team Colorado Goal

4th Quarter
10-7 Patrick Kelly Goal
11-7 Ryan Brown Goal, assisted by Derek DeJoe
11-8 Team Colorado Goal
12-8 Patrick Kelly Goal
12-9 Team Colorado
12-0 Team Colorado

Dr. Tom Watts Memorial U-19 High School Boys Showcase

Division 1
FCA 12, Team Colorado 10
In a highly energetic game, FCA pulled out to a 5-0 lead that would prove too much for Team Colorado to overcome, and FCA won their first U-19 Vail title 12-10. Colorado didn’t get on the board until the second quarter, only a few times coming within a couple goals of FCA. At the end of the day FCA’s incredibly consistent play, while utilizing tremendous team depth, ultimately kept them ahead. While Colorado fought hard throughout the game, their efforts proved to be too little, too late to overcome the FCA large, initial lead.

3rd Place
Laxachusetts 12, Brady’s Bunch 8

5th Place
ADRLN Tropics 13, Team Ohio 12

7th Place
NE 3D Select 9, True Lacrosse 4

Division 2
Blue Lion 13, Winnipeg 7

Buddha’s Ballers 22, Houlaguns 0
Western Colo. Mavericks 8, Local Favorites 6

Final Standings
Team Colorado
Brady’s Bunch
ADRLN Tropics
Team Ohio
NE 3D Select
True Lacrosse
Blue Lion
Western Colorado Mavericks
Local Favorites
Buddha’s Ballers

All-Tournament Team
Bryce Parietti – Colorado
Patrick Kelly – FCA
Seamus Connelly – Laxachusetts

Brian Miller – Ohio
Deemer Class – FCA
Jack Connelly – Laxachusetts
Kevin Greenburg – Colorado

Eli Merritt – ND 3D Select

Tim Stackpole – FCA
JD Hall – Colorado

Carey Morrison – Winnipeg
Tanner Scales – Colorado
Bobby Duvniak – FCA
Matt Dunn – FCA

Bass Barfield – Brady’s Bunch

Tags: ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines