follow us on...

Post-season honors: C.W. Post’s Mosca, Donaldson, Sileao earn IWLCA honors

Friday, 22nd June 2012

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 6/22/12
From Press Release

The IWLCA has honored 12 student-athletes for their achievements during the 2012 season, as the organization named the Goalie, Defender, Midfielder, and Attacker of the Year for each of the three divisions tonight at the All-American banquet held at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King of Prussia, Pa.

Division II national champion C. W. Post had three student-athletes honored, as Dominque Mosca (Goalie), Chelsea Donaldson (Defender), and Jackie Sileo (Attacker) were all named national players of the year. Division III national champion Trinity was recognized with two student-athletes as Liz Bruno was named the National Midfielder of the Year and teammate Liza Beckler was tabbed as the National Defender of the Year.

Division I national semifinalist Maryland also had two players earn the honor, including Katie Schwarzmann, who repeated as National Midfielder of the Year, and Iliana Sanza, who earned National Defender of the Year honors. National runners-up Salisbury and Syracuse both had one player honored by the organization, as Salisbury’s Ashton Wheatley earned top goalie honors and Syracuse’s Michelle Tumolo was named the National Attacker of the Year.

National semifinalists Florida and Le Moyne also each had a national player of the year as UF’s Mikey Meagher became her school’s first-ever C. Markland Kelly Goalkeeper of the Year and Le Moyne’s Brittany Brigandi picked up National Midfielder of the Year recognition. NCAA participant Gettysburg also had a national player of the year in Hannah Church (attack).

Wheatley was the last line of defense for the nation’s top-ranked scoring defense, which allowed only 5.00 goals per game, 1.35 goals per game lower than the second-ranked team. The Cambridge, Md., native stopped 114 shots this season for a .525 save percentage, good for 11th in the nation. Wheatley posted the lowest GAA of any Division III goalie this season, with a 5.75 GAA, more than half a goal lower than the second-ranked goalie.

Beckler, a senior, was selected as an All-American for the second season in a row after leading the Bantams to their first national title. In five NCAA Tournament games this spring, Trinity’s defense held its opponents to 22 goals and 37 shots on goal, largely due to Beckler active presence in the middle of the Bantam zone defense. Totaling 36 ground balls and 26 caused turnovers this spring, Beckler helped Trinity go undefeated in the postseason.

Bruno, a unanimous selection as NESCAC Player of the Year, became a four-time All-American in 2012. The NCAA Final Four’s Most Outstanding Performer, Bruno led the Bantams in assists (30), ground balls (61), and caused turnovers (55) to go with 27 goals and 51 draw controls this spring. Her combination of size, speed, stick skills, and leadership abilities gave Trinity both a lethal offensive and defensive weapon.

Church led Gettysburg’s offense with 97 points on 71 goals and a career-high 26 assists. The senior attacker was named Centennial Conference Player of the Year, All-Centennial Conference First Team, and All-Metro Region First Team. She put up multiple goals in each of the final 16 games of her collegiate career and she scored at least one goal in 43 of her final 44 contests. Church, who was a second-team IWLCA All-American last spring, finished her career at Gettysburg second all-time with 210 goals and tied for third with 272 points.

Mosca anchored the Pioneers to the national championship after posting top-10 rankings in both goals-against average and save percentage. The ECC Goalkeeper of the Year, Mosca posted a 17-3 overall record that included three wins in the NCAA tournament.

Donaldson helped LIU Post capture its third national championship while earning All-NCAA Tournament honors in the process. A two-time IWLCA All-American and East Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, she anchored a defense that finished fifth in Division II allowing just 8.39 goals per game. The senior captain put up strong numbers by picking up a team-high 45 ground balls and causing 16 turnovers.

Brigandi, the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year, led the team and was second in the conference and seventh in the nation in goals scored with 66, the second-highest total on the program’s single season chart. Brigandi had a team-best 79 points, the fifth-best total on the program’s single season list. She scored the game-winning goal in a team-best five games and was second on the team in draw controls with 46 while tying for second on the team in ground balls with 30. The senior finished her career with a program-record 182 goals, 35 assists and 217 total points.

Sileo was named Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Championships as well as the ECC Player of the Year during her sophomore season, and earns her second straight All-America citation as she totaled a Division II-best 141 points with 45 goals and 96 assists, both single-season records for C. W. Post.

Meagher finished the season leading the nation in both save percentage (.537) and goals-against average (7.04). The junior keeper consistently had more saves than goals allowed, and finishes the year one of just three netminders with a season save percentage above .500, sitting .025 above the second-best keeper in the nation. Meagher made 145 saves and allowed just 125 goals. Meagher was named the MVP of the ALC Tournament.

Sanza, the Terps’ top defender and one of Maryland’s three Tewaaraton nominees, helped the unit limit opponents to a mere 8.00 goals per game this season. The junior from Cockeysville, Md., tallied a team-high 46 ground balls and 33 caused turnovers in 2012. This is the latest in a flurry of honors for Sanza this season. She was also named ACC Defensive Player of the Year in early May and was also tabbed to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team.

Schwarzmann earned the 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy and repeated as the IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year. The 2012 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship MVP, Schwarzmann was named to the first team for the second straight year. The Sykesville, Md., product led Maryland in goals and was second in points. She was also second in ground balls and draw controls. Her 72 goals in 2012 ranked fifth in Maryland single-season history. She was also named to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament team.

Tumolo recorded a career-high 95 points in 2012, which ranked sixth in the nation. She was second on the team in scoring and goals (52) and led the team in assists (43) and caused turnovers (16). A Tewaaraton Award finalist, Tumolo became the second player in school history to record 200 points and 100 assists in her career this season.

IWLCA Positional Players of the Year

Division III

Ashton Wheatley, Salisbury
C. Markland Kelly Goalie of the Year

Liza Beckler, Trinity
Defender of the Year

Liz Bruno, Trinity
Midfielder of the Year

Hannah Church, Gettysburg
Attacker of the Year

Division II
Dominique Mosca, C. W. Post
C. Markland Kelly Goalie of the Year

Chelsea Donaldson, C. W. Post
Defender of the Year

Brittany Brigandi, Le Moyne
Midfielder of the Year

Jackie Sileo, C. W. Post
Attacker of the Year

Division I
Mikey Meagher, Florida
C. Markland Kelly Goalie of the Year

Iliana Sanza, Maryland
Defender of the Year

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
Midfielder of the Year

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse
Attacker of the Year



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines