follow us on...

Final tryout roster released for 2012-14 US women’s national team

Friday, 1st June 2012

Categories Girl's/Women's, Posted 6/1/12
From Press Release

US Lacrosse has selected the group which will compete to earn a place on the 2012-14 U.S. women’s national team at the second and final round of tryouts, to be held July 27-29 on the campus of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County in Catonsville, Md.

Overall, 143 players representing 34 institutions participated in open tryouts at US Lacrosse National Tournament, held May 25-27 in Stony Brook, N.Y. These individuals competed in the Stars and Stripes division and each played four games over the course of the weekend as the U.S. women’s national team coaching staff, led by Head Coach Ricky Fried, and the U.S. women’s national team selection committee, chaired by Anne Phillips, evaluated the field.

In total, 38 players were advanced to the second round of tryouts. They will be joined by returning members of the 2011-12 U.S. women’s national team, as well as those waived through the first round of tryouts. Individuals that have been waived through the initial tryout include NCAA championship weekend participants, first-team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-Americans and those declared medically unable to play over Memorial Day weekend.

Following the second round of tryouts in July, 36-40 players will be selected. This group will also serve as the training team pool for the U.S. women’s national team which will defend its 2009 gold medal at the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup in Oshawa, Canada. The final 18-player World Cup roster is expected to be announced in February 2013.

The players who have advanced to the second round of tryouts are:

Stephanie Anderson, M (Rutgers ’13)
Kelly Barnes, D (Georgetown ’12)
Sarah Boucher, M (Queens ’13)
Dana Cahill, G (Penn State ’12)
Tatum Coffey, M (Penn State ’15)*
Rhiannon Coogle, A (Towson ’14)
Taylor D’Amore, A (Johns Hopkins ’14)
Alyssa Dunlap, D (Vanderbilt ’14)
Daniela Eppler, D (Virginia ’15)
Cortney Fortunato, A (Northport High School ’13)*
Taylor Frink, A (Albany ’11)
Kelsey Gahan, D (Virginia ’15)
Kellye Gallagher, D (Loyola ’12)
Loren Generi, A (Navy ’15)
Emma Hamm, A (Duke ’12)**
Kelsey Henshaw, M (Navy ’14)
Liz Hogan, G (Syracuse ’11)
Madeleine Keeshan, D (Virginia ’14)
Alyssa Kildare, D (Johns Hopkins ’12)***
Anna Kim, M (Stanford ’14)
Ashley Kimener, M (James Madison ’12)
Emily Leitner, G (Penn ’12)
Megan Marinelli, D (Georgetown ’15)
Josie Owen, A (Virginia ’12)**
Claire Petersen, A (Stony Brook ’13)
Mallory Poole, M (C.W. Post ’08)***
Mikaela Rix, M (Boston College ’15)*
Lauren Schmidt, M (Stanford ’11)***
Jaclyn Sileo, A (C.W. Post ’13)
Margaret Smith, D (Notre Dame ’14)
Morgan Stephens, M (Virginia ’15)
Barbara Sullivan, D (Notre Dame ’15)*
Courtney Swan, A (Virginia ’15)
Caroline Tarzian, A (Georgetown ’15)
Mary Teeters, G (Towson ’12)
Gina Valles, M (Roanoke ’11)
Taylor Virden, D (Duke ’14)
Brittany Wilton, A (Boston College ’12)

* Member of the 2011 U.S. women’s national under-19 team
** Member of the 2007 U.S. women’s national under-19 team
*** Member of the 2010-11 U.S. women’s national senior team

Follow the Team USA tryouts at To learn more about the U.S. women’s national team program, visit

Champion is the official apparel sponsor of the U.S. women’s national teams. deBeer is the official equipment sponsor of the U.S. women’s national teams. Marriott, Nationwide and Shock Doctor are official sponsors of the National Teams Program.


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines