follow us on...

Lacrosse standouts Hock, Reh, Tower to be inducted into Adelphi Sports Hall of Fame

Tuesday, 7th February 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/7/12
From Press Release

The Adelphi University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics will induct six outstanding honorees and recognize a championship team at its 42nd annual Hall of Fame Ceremony on Thursday, April 19, 2011 at the Ruth S. Harley University Center in the Thomas Dixon Lovely Ballroom.

The dinner, which honors those individuals who have made significant contributions to the athletics program includes Hubert Blue ’82 (Track & Field), Melissa DeMasi ’06 (Women’s Lacrosse), Gordon Hinds ’83 (Track & Field), Katherine Hock ’05 MA ’06 (Women’s Lacrosse), Gary Reh ’95 (Men’s Lacrosse) and Brian Tower ’01 MA ’04 (Men’s Lacrosse).

Hock graduated from Adelphi as the most decorated women’s lacrosse player in school history. She was a three-time IWLCA All-American and named the Division II Attacker of The Year in 2005, a year after helping the Panthers to the first NCAA Championship in program history and earning inclusion on the NCAA All-Tournament team.

Reh continued Adelphi’s tradition of producing quality lacrosse players, earning three USILA All-American honors while in Garden City and being named the NCAA Division II in 1993 and in 1995. He was also instrumental in Adelphi’s drive to the National Championship in 2005, leading the Panthers in both goals and assists that season.

Tower achieved both personal and team success while at Adelphi, earning three USILA All-American awards and hoisting three NCAA National Championship trophies. Tower was also selected to play in the Division I North-South All-Star game in 2001.

The Panther Legendary Team award will be presented to the 1984 Softball Team. That year the Panthers posted a record of 42-7 overall and captured the programs first NCAA Division I Northeast Regional Championship and went on to finish fifth at the College World Series.

Blue was a seven time All-American while at Adelphi, and captured the NCAA National Championship at 200 meters in 1981. A year later he just missed out on the double, placing third at the NCAA National Championship meet. In addition, Blue was a member of Adelphi’s 4×200 meter relay team that placed second at the historic PENN Relays.

DeMasi, a defender on two NCAA National Championship teams, was a three-time IWLCA All-American while wearing the Brown and Gold. In 2004 she was named to the NCAA All-Tournament team and was recognized in 2006 as the best defender in Division II by the IWLCA.

Hinds was a middle distance star on the track for Adelphi, with his brightest moment coming at the 1983 NCAA National Championship meet when he placed first in the 800 meter run with a time of 1:50.97. Hinds, also continues to be the school record holder at 500 meters and 600 yards with times of 1:02.72 and 1:09.20.

The Adelphi University Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1961 to honor those athletes, coaches and friends who have distinguished themselves during their time at the university and thereafter. For more information, please contact Adam Siepiola, Assistant Athletic Director, at (516) 877-4293 or The cost of the dinner is $100 per person and reservations are required. The evening begins with a cocktail reception at 6:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m.



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines