follow us on...

Hertsch (Hofstra), Etrasco (Massapequa) named to US National Team for North American Challenge Cup

Sunday, 5th February 2012

Categories Girl's/Women's, Posted 2/5/12
From Press Release

Katie Hertsch, a 2011 graduate of Hofstra University and Boston University junior Danielle Etrasco (Massapequa) have been named to the United States National Team.

A first team All-CAA pick in each of the last two seasons, Hertsch led Hofstra with 22 caused turnovers last season, while ranking second on the team in ground balls and draw controls with 33 and 28, respectively. Hertsch finished her spectacular career with 138 ground balls, 70 caused turnovers and 110 draw controls. Those totals rank third all-time in ground balls, fifth in caused turnovers and sixth in draw controls.

Etrasco received Most Valuable Player honors for the 2011 Boston University lacrosse team after claiming America East Co-Player of the Year accolades.

Etrasco had a breakout year in her sophomore campaign, tallying 57 goals and eight assists for 65 points. In one of her most impressive performances, she single-handedly outscored Vermont on April 30 with nine goals, propelling the Terriers to the conference tournament and setting a 2011 NCAA Division I single-game high for most goals. She ranked in the top 10 in the country in both goals (57) and goals per game (3.35), while her four game-winning markers tied for second in the conference and 2.41 draw controls per game tied for fourth.

In addition to her AE Player of the Year nod, Etrasco was named to the America East All-Conference First Team and earned IWLCA Northeast All- Region First Team honors.

US Lacrosse has named the 24-player U.S. women’s national senior team roster for the North American Challenge Cup, to be held July 13-15, 2012, in Oshawa, Canada, host of the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup. The team was selected from the 38-player 2011-12 U.S. women’s senior team that most recently competed at Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event, in January.

After the North American Challenge Cup, the touring team will return to the U.S. and, in less than two weeks, be ready to try out for the 2012-13 U.S. women’s national senior team July 27-29. The first round of open tryouts, from which current U.S. women’s senior team players are exempt, will be held May 25-27 at the US Lacrosse National Tournament (formerly Women’s Division National Tournament) in Stony Brook, N.Y. Following the second round of tryouts, a team of 36 players will be selected. En route to the 2013 World Cup, this group will gather for several training weekends and competitions in September, October (at US Lacrosse’s Stars & Stripes event), November and January 2013 (Champion Challenge). Immediately following Champion Challenge, the final 18-player FIL World Cup team plus alternate(s) will be selected.

“We are fortunate to have a pool of very talented players such that each brings something different to the table,” said U.S. women’s senior team head coach Ricky Fried. “As the coaching staff built the roster for this summer, we focused on selecting a group that complemented one another and displayed superior decision-making abilities on the field. We are confident that we have selected a group with a team-first mentality that can thrive within our system. While by no means is this the final group for the 2013 FIL World Cup, we are pleased with the way our team is progressing and look forward to reuniting this summer.”

No. First Last Pos College
2 Sarah Albrecht* M Northwestern ’09
5 Kelly Berger M James Madison ’07
19 Sarah Bullard* M Duke ’11
32 Allyson Carey M Vanderbilt ’12
38 Kristin Carr D North Carolina ’10
6 Katrina Dowd A Northwestern ’10
31 Danielle Etrasco (Massapequa) A Boston University ’13
1 Amber Falcone* D North Carolina ’09
39 Kathleen Hertsch D Hofstra ’11
24 Megan Huether* G Duke ’06
16 Kristin Igoe M Boston College ’12
28 Erica LaGrow* M North Carolina ’08
8 Caitlyn McFadden* M Maryland ’10
7 Holly McGarvie* D Princeton ’09
9 Lindsey Munday* A Northwestern ’06
14 Regina Oliver* D Ohio State ’05
21 Katie Rowan* A Syracuse ’09
11 Jennifer Russell D North Carolina ’10
37 Katie Schwarzmann M Maryland ’13
22 Danielle Spencer A Northwestern ’10
35 Michelle Tumolo A Syracuse ’13
13 Acacia Walker* M Maryland ’05
3 Devon Wills* G Dartmouth ’06
36 Laura Zimmerman M North Carolina ’12

* Member of 2009 U.S. World Cup Team



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines