follow us on...

MLL draft: Hofstra senior Serling selected in fifth round by Denver Outlaws

Tuesday, 17th January 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 1/17/12
From Press Release

Hofstra University graduate-student midfielder Steve Serling was selected in the fifth round of the 2012 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft in Philadelphia Friday night, the MLL announced.

Serling (Rockville Centre, NY), who graduated from Lafayette College in May, 2010 and is pursuing a master’s degree in finance at Hofstra, was selected with the first pick of the fifth round-33rd pick overall-by the Denver Outlaws. This was the second time that he was drafted after being selected by Denver with the third pick in the second round of the 2011 MLL Collegiate Draft last January.

Serling played in four games for the Pride as a graduate-student last year before suffering a season-ending spleen injury. In those four games, he recorded three goals and six assists. He tallied three goals and four assists in Hofstra’s 10-6 victory at Sacred Heart in his second game with the Pride last February. Serling will complete his athletic eligibility with the Pride in 2012.

A USILA All-America honorable mention, the Patriot League’s Offense Player of the Year and an All-Patriot League first team selection in 2010, Serling started all 14 games and tallied 37 goals and 12 assists for 49 points. He ranked first in the Patriot League and ninth in Division I in goals and second in the League and 18 th in the country in points. The Long Island native, who played at South Side High School, recorded 72 goals and 24 assists in three seasons with the Leopards of Lafayette.

Serling becomes the 19th player in Hofstra history to be selected in the MLL Draft. His selection in the MLL Draft marks the eighth consecutive year and the tenth time in 12 years that the Pride has had at least one student-athlete selected in the MLL Collegiate Draft. In 2006, Hofstra had a single-draft high of five players chosen in the MLL Draft.

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its 12th season in 2012. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 MLL season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines