follow us on...

Lacrosse Magazine women’s rankings: Northwestern’s Smith (W. Babylon), Adelphi’s Devito (SWR) named Preseason Players of Year

Thursday, 29th December 2011

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Rankings, Posted 12/29/11
from US Lacrosse

Lacrosse Magazine, the flagship publication of US Lacrosse, announced its 2012 preseason college team rankings and preseason players of the year.

The rankings, compiled by Lacrosse Magazine staff after consultations with coaches, predict the champions of 12 divisions of college play, including the NCAA, the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association, the US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates and the National Junior College Athletic Association.

The magazine tabbed defending NCAA Division I champions Virginia men and Northwestern women to repeat in 2012, alongside defending Division II men’s champion Mercyhurst and Division III champions Salisbury men and Gettysburg women. Le Moyne earned the preseason No. 1 ranking in NCAA Division II women.

Lacrosse Magazine also honored 12 student-athletes as the best lacrosse players in their respective divisions, including 2011 women’s Tewaaraton Award winner Shannon Smith (West Babylon) of Northwestern (Division I) and Erica Devito (Shoreham-Wading River) of Adelphi (Division II).

NCAA Division I Women

1. Northwestern
2. Maryland
3. North Carolina
4. Duke
5. Florida
6. Virginia
7. Princeton
8. Boston College
9. Stanford
10. Loyola
11. James Madison
12. Penn
13. Dartmouth
14. Syracuse
15. Penn State
16. Vanderbilt
17. Georgetown
18. Notre Dame
19. Albany
20. Harvard

Preseason Player of the Year: Shannon Smith (West Babylon), Northwestern

NCAA Division II Women

1. Le Moyne
2. Adelphi
3. C.W. Post
4. Dowling
5. Limestone
6. West Chester
7. Lock Haven
8. Stonehill
9. Rollins
10. New Haven

Preseason Player of the Year: Erica Devito (Shoreham-Wading River), Adelphi

NCAA Division III Women

1. Gettysburg
3. Cortland
4. Hamilton
5. F&M
6. Salisbury
7. Trinity
8. Middlebury
9. Bowdoin
10. Tufts
11. Colby
12. Messiah
13. Amherst
14. Washington & Lee
15. Stevens
16. Catholic
17. Bates
18. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
19. Adrian
20. Ithaca

Preseason Player of the Year: Leigh Mitchell, The College of New Jersey


1. Monroe
2. Anne Arundel
3. Catonsville
4. Onondaga
5. Harford
6. Howard
7. Herkimer
8. Mohawk Valley
9. Nassau
10. Brookdale

Preseason Player of the Year: Mary Milligan, Anne Arundel

Tags: ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines