follow us on...

Long Island University women release schedule for 2012 season

Friday, 14th October 2011

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 10/14/11

Long Island University head women’s lacrosse coach Heather Levins has announced the schedule for the 2012 season. Levins and the Blackbirds will play 16 total games, including seven on the newly-resurfaced LIU Field.

The Blackbirds kick off the season on Saturday, Feb. 25 with a non-conference game against George Washington in Washington, D.C. LIU goes toe-to-toe with Iona in New Rochelle, N.Y. on Feb. 29 before playing its home opener against Manhattan on March 3.

The non-conference slate is highlighted by a spring break trip to California to face UC Davis, Saint Mary’s and Fresno State. The Blackbirds will be in Davis, Calif., to face the Aggies on March 11 before heading to Moraga, Calif., on March 15 to take on Saint Mary’s. The spring break trip wraps up in Fresno, Calif., on March 17 with a game against the Bulldogs.

Long Island opens its Northeast Conference schedule on Friday, March 23 at 4:00 p.m. against Sacred Heart at LIU Field. The Blackbirds will host 2011 NEC Champion Quinnipiac at home, as well as Wagner, Mount St. Mary’s and Monmouth. LIU will play road contests against Central Connecticut State, Bryant, Saint Francis (Pa.) and Robert Morris.

The top four teams in the regular season standings will advance to the NEC Tournament, hosted by the highest seed. The semifinal match is scheduled for April 27, with the finals taking place on April 29.

2012 Long Island University
Women’s Lacrosse Schedule

Day Date Opponent Time
Sat. Feb. 25 at George Washington 1:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 29 at Iona 3:00 p.m.
Sat. March 3 Manhattan Noon
Thu. March 8 Liberty 4:00 p.m.
Sun. March 11 at UC Davis TBD
Thu. March 15 at Saint Mary’s 6:30 p.m.
Sat. March 17 at Fresno State 4:00 p.m.
Fri. March 23 Sacred Heart* 4:00 p.m.
Sun. March 25 Quinnipiac* 5:00 p.m.
Fri. March 30 at Central Connecticut State* 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 1 at Bryant* Noon
Fri. April 6 Wagner* 4:00 p.m.
Fri. April 13 Mount St. Mary’s* 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 15 Monmouth* 11:00 a.m.
Fri. April 20 at Saint Francis (Pa.)* 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 22 at Robert Morris* 1:00 p.m.

All times Eastern
Home games in bold
* Northeast Conference game



You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Headlines